We’re pleased to announce that the deadline for the 2018 Restless Books Prize for New Immigrant Writing has been extended by one month, until March 31, 2018. We’re looking for groundbreaking, extraordinary fiction that grapples with the complexities of our ever-changing world. We’ve brought on board a new judge, the brilliant author of The Tiger’s Wife—and Serbian-American immigrant—Téa Obreht to help us find a winner. And this year, for the first time, the prize is open to first-generation residents of any country.

The first winner of the fiction prize was Deepak Unnikrishnan for his novel Temporary People,published in March 2017, which won the Hindu Prize, was nominated for the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize, and was named a best book of 2017 by The San Francisco Chronicle and Kirkus.

It’s become increasingly important to us to celebrate the diverse, polyethnic fabric that makes up our culture, both here and abroad. Please spread the word to the up-and-coming immigrant writers in your communities so we can help to amplify their voice!

Find more details on the Prize page, and you can always email us with any questions.

—Your friends at Restless

Visit the Prize Page for More Details and to Submit!

Meet the 2018 Judges

Téa Obreht’s debut novel, The Tiger’s Wife, won the 2011 Orange Prize for Fiction, and was a 2011 National Book Award Finalist and a New York Timesbestseller.  Her work has been anthologized in The Best American Short Stories and The Best American Non-Required Reading, and has appeared in The New YorkerThe AtlanticHarper’sVogue, Esquire and Zoetrope: All-Story. She was a National Book Foundation 5 Under 35 honoree, and was named by The New Yorker as one of the twenty best American fiction writers under forty. She lives in New York and teaches at Hunter College.

Ilan Stavans is the Publisher of Restless Books and the Lewis-Sebring Professor of Humanities, Latin American and Latino Culture at Amherst College. His books include On Borrowed WordsSpanglishDictionary DaysThe Disappearance, and A Critic’s Journey. He has edited The Norton Anthology of Latino Literature, the three-volume set Isaac Bashevis Singer: Collected StoriesThe Poetry of Pablo Neruda, among dozens of other volumes. He is the recipient of numerous awards and honors, including a Guggenheim Fellowship, Chile’s Presidential Medal, the International Latino Book Award, and the Jewish Book Award. Stavans’s work, translated into twenty languages, has been adapted to the stage and screen. A cofounder of the Great Books Summer Program at Amherst, Stanford, Chicago, Oxford, and Dublin, he is the host of the NPR podcast «In Contrast.»

Learn More

Dejar respuesta

Por favor ingrese su comentario!
Por favor ingrese su nombre aquí